The Guardians of the Galaxy Vol 2

GOG1

Directed by: James Gunn
Produced by: Kevin Feige
Written by: James Gunn
Based on Guardians of the Galaxy by: Dan Abnett & Andy Lanning
Starring: Chris Pratt, Zoe Saldana, Dave Bautista, Vin Diesel, Bradley Cooper, Michael Rooker, Karen Gillan, Pom Klementieff, Elizabeth Debicki, Chris Sullivan, Sean Gunn, Sylvester Stallone, Kurt Russell
Music by: Tyler Bates
Cinematography: Henry Braham
Edited by: Fred Raskin, Craig Wood
Production company: Marvel Studios
Distributed by: Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures

Skyler has already posted a terrific review about this film, so I will keep my comments short. My only concern going into the movie was Kurt Russell as Ego. As the “old man” of the group, I remember when Ego, the living planet, was first introduced back in 1966 in Thor #132. When I read that Russell was playing a planet, I scratched my head trying to figure out how that was going to work. I even warned my (adult) children about the casting of a person as a planet so they wouldn’t suffer fan-girl whiplash when they came across the inevitable spoilers.

How James Gunn pulls this off addressed both the needs of the film and the hard-core comic continuity gang. There were also lots of Easter eggs (as usual) for the obsessed fans. Russell was great casting.

So here are my warnings:

  1. Stay through all the credits. Aside from them being entertaining, there are scenes you do not want to miss.
  2. If you are worried about having a stroke due to exertion caused by a combination of laughter and an over-abundance of cuteness, make sure you take your medication before the opening credits.

Go see the movie. You will most likely want to see it a couple of times. I know I will.

 

Leave a Reply

